Co-Ed Wrestling dominates Whittier HS

 

wrestling_12.3.JPG
PHOTO BY PAW PRINTS WEEKLY
By COLLEEN GAPUZAN
ENTERTAINMENT EDITOR

  On Tuesday, Dec. 3, co-ed wrestling triumphed over Whittier HS with a final score of 45-33. 

  During the match, the wrestlers’ individual wins made up the team’s final score, which contributed to the team’s overall victory.

  According to captain Sebastian Hernandez (12), the team ultimately progressed and developed a consistent regimen in preparation for the new season.

  “Our team has put in a tremendous amount of time and energy into preparing for our matches and tournaments,” Hernandez said. “Even though some practices tested our patience at times, we persevered in the end, which ultimately scored us a win.”

  Despite the team’s victory, co-captain Sarah Limon (12) reflects on possible improvements for future matches.

  “I am pleased with the team’s results, [but] I feel like we could have [improved upon] our technique,” Limon said. “The team could have been more focused, [but] greatly improved from last season [overall].”

  Additionally, member Jasmine Solar (11) attributes her success to her team’s support and encouragement. 

  “Before I wrestle, my teammates hype me up and encourage me to do my best,” Solar said. “I would like to give a special shoutout to my teammates because they encouraged my win when I was able to get my hand raised.”

  Wrestling will face off against West Covina HS on Saturday, Dec. 7. 

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.